Open letter to the remark that my work is “not feminist enough”

Posted: April 21, 2014 in 19th century media, Aboriginal, Critical Discourse Analysis, Critical Mixed Race Theory, Feminisms, Louis Riel, Media, Panopticon, Pedagogy, Race, Sovereignty

At an event I recently attended I was told that my dissertation was not considered feminist enough. My response, as I held my drink standing within the din of clinking glasses, was: “you’re joking, right?” Interestingly, the remark was made by someone who did not read my work but based their conclusion on my topic. My research project is an analysis of Louis Riel’s 1885 trial and the representation of the Métis leader by the nineteenth-century media and its present day implications. Beyond my ostensibly glib reaction, the remark raised several questions for me, which I am compelled to bring forward to create a conversation.

Aside from the intriguing fact that someone would suggest that my work concerning a Métis leader and his representation in the media is not feminist enough, even more curious is how exactly this reasoning was deduced? This is particularly troubling when considering the long-standing issues endured by Métis peoples in Canada and the continued violence against all Aboriginal Nations specifically with the ever present crisis of missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls – a consequence my research connects to Riel’s execution and the negation of Aboriginal sovereignties. Perhaps a more astute question is how could this work not be feminist?

While I accept all criticism as valuable, even more so than praise, this remark left me stymied. Granted my methodology for this specific project does not outwardly use a “conventional” western feminist approach (explained in my Introduction). Instead, my discourse analysis of the historical event applies a critical race and postcolonial approach as I utilize the scholarship, storytelling, and writings of Métis and First Nations scholars, including Riel. I felt this method was necessary because a western analytic framework could once again colonize the sovereign objectives and paradigmatic and contextual shifts Riel was undertaking. As a feminist scholar, I felt this was the most feminist approach to take.

What then does it mean to be feminist enough? Who am I proving my feminism to? Must my feminism be proved at all? Who is in charge of judging this? Are there guidelines, a rule book, an obstacle course, a code of conduct, a hazing ritual, a membership mandate, proof in the pudding, or a complex set of algorithms which will magically spit out gold coins revealing: “Yes, this is feminist … enough?”

Am I, or is my feminism, not enough? Bound with the short sighted evaluation of my work (or more specifically, its title) is an intellectual and proprietary hierarchy, which privileges an assumed power to dictate what feminism is, and with it also arrives (ironically) a distinct gust of patriarchy, no?

Interesting.

To me, if I may be so bold (as a feminist), the remark in many ways says more about the institutionalization of feminisms (plural intended), rather than my work as not being feminist enough. My work was shut down instead of opened up to consider all the possibilities. I was silenced and with this silencing so too was, once again, the contextual histories of the critical work at hand: issues concerning Métis sovereignty.

For the record, my research illuminates new scholarship concerning Riel’s advocacy for the rights and recognition of Métis and First Nations women and girls; his public condemnation of the Canadian government’s gender-based violence during the period; and the connection between the criminalization of Métis sovereignty, which culminated in Riel’s execution, with present day issues concerning missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls.

The criticism I received was indeed extremely valuable as I continue my everyday feminist methodology: to question and to listen in order to understand and create conversations. I also look forward to bring this anecdote forward into the classrooms where I teach students who come with their own complex histories, and varied stories, and who are grappling with what it means to be a feminist.

I will listen to them in order to understand and to remain open to all possibilities.

 

Comments
  1. Diana Brydon says:

    Good that you can find something positive about criticism but don’t beat yourself up. I’ve been called not Canadian enough, told I write too clearly and I am too pragmatic and too utopian. All best

    • Sorouja Moll says:

      Thanks for the link, Dawn. Very interesting. I’m revising my conclusion and I might just cite material from this article. There is an overriding demand (?) to assimilate culturally, racially, intellectually, materially, philosophically, institutionally, academically, domestically, basically at every level. In other words, an intense social policing which is ever present and becomes visible when an individual is “perceived” as being outside of prescribed codes of conduct. Not new. Based on fear>invasion>miscegenation and leads back to issues concerning sovereignty(self or otherwise). O, Hobbes and your artificial man.

  2. I’ve heard numerous stories similar to this. Indeed, I recall that a number of female friends in grad school were compelled to go back to their dissertations and add (after the fact) an awkward patina of jargon-laden (and entirely superfluous) prose JUST so that they’d pass muster with the kind of people you’re talking about. It reminds me of the sanctimonious comments about God and Country and the Bible that 19th-century scientists often inserted into their treatises. These comments added nothing to their analyzes, and were there merely to please whatever censors might happen to peruse the text.

Leave a Reply

